top of page

Dade City Man Neglects Children to Afford YETI Cooler


YETI coolers are the best and most luxurious coolers money can buy. YETI sales have skyrocketed since their start in 2006 and the company shows no signs of slowing down. The coolers have become popular with everyone from fishermen, to hunters, to welfare recipients that make monthly payments on their coolers.

The Kumquat caught wind of one local resident, Donnie “Big Country” Cummins, who recently purchased a top-of-the-line YETI cooler. Cummins was more than happy to tell the world about his recent purchase.

“Buying this cooler is the proudest moment of my life,” Big Country said. “Like a lot of people in Dade City, I had YETI hat, YETI sticker, and YETI coozie, but I couldn’t actually afford the cooler. Now I that I have my YETI cooler I can wear my hat proudly.”

Keeping his beer cold is now easy, but the hard part for Big Country was finding a way to fit the $300 cooler into his budget.

“I had to make a lot of sacrifices to afford my YETI cooler,” Cummins said. “Obviously, my first decision was to stop paying my child support payments. Then I saved every dime from my last three unemployment checks. After a lot of budgeting I was finally ready to make the biggest purchase of my life.”

Big Country says he has noticed a change in his lifestyle since becoming a proud YETI owner.

“It seems like every one of my buddies has been asking me to rent a pontoon boat and go out to Homosassa Springs. I even get more respect at the huntin’ camp because the other guys know I’m a true outdoorsman.”

When asked if he regrets spending so much money on a cooler his answer was simple.

“Hell no. I mean sometimes I feel a little bad that my six kids might be starving, but I realize it’s all worth it when I think about how much money I’ve saved on ice,” Big Country said. “I can finally sleep easy at night knowing that my Keystone Light will still be ice cold in the morning.”

"THE NEWS YOU DESERVE" 
bottom of page