top of page

Braille Bookstore Off to Bumpy Start

DADE CITY - Ed Cascade knew running a braille bookstore would have its ups and downs but that didn’t stop him from pursuing his dream and opening the first and only store dedicated to the blind in Dade City.

“My mother is blind and it has always been my passion to help those in her condition. This opportunity has always been right in front of me but I just didn’t see it until recently,” Cascade said.

Since opening in April, “Braille Books and Gifts” has been off to a bumpy start. Sales numbers have been lower than expected. Cascade says there are not enough blind people in the area to cater to, so he has had to come up with new and innovative ideas to create business.

“I don’t want to tell my secrets but I have a lot of exciting ideas for the store - a lot of stuff that has never been seen before,” he said.

The Kumquat will keep an eye on this story and provide any further details.

"THE NEWS YOU DESERVE" 
bottom of page