top of page

Pasco County Becoming Dry County, Prohibiting Alcohol


DADE CITY - Pasco County may be on the verge of becoming the fourth dry county in the state of Florida. According to documents obtained by The Kumquat, a bill to prohibit the sale of alcohol could be passed to as early as mid-April of this year.

The Kumquat spoke with Pasco County Sheriff Dale “Buckshot” Ford to find out more information regarding the groundbreaking news.

“I think this is a great day for Pasco County,” said Sherriff Ford. “Safety is and always will be a top priority in this county. I think this change was well overdue. I mean, the proof is in the pudding. Almost 65% of all crimes in Pasco County last year were alcohol related, and about 40% of those crimes were committed in the Dade City area alone.”

Sheriff Dale “Buckshot” Ford was not the only one who believes Pasco County will benefit greatly from the prohibition of alcohol. 72-year-old Abigail Thumper of New Port Richey is also in favor of the proposed bill.

“I’m glad that the county is finally becoming alcohol free. It’s the work of Satan himself. Not having that Devil’s juice available to the people will save countless souls from an eternity of burning in the fiery pits of hell,” said Thumper.

The proposed bill has also been placed under scrutiny from many Pasco County citizens. Ron Williamson of Dade City is among those who were outraged by the news.

“Are you kiddin’ me?! My booze is the only thing in my life that keeps me going. There’s no way I can deal with my wife and kids when sober. I don’t want to hear about how it will cut down the crime rate. You can’t just go around taking people’s happiness. That’s the real crime here,” said Williamson.

If the bill passes, Pasco County would join Lafayette County, Liberty County, and Washington County as the only dry counties in the state of Florida.

"THE NEWS YOU DESERVE" 
bottom of page